Arts · Life · Science · Sensorial

Voting, Painting and a…Holiday?

Today is a pretty big deal in the U.K as we vote in our General Election. I am not a politics Guru, in fact my husband broke down the important manifestos for me and gave me great impartial insight on a lot of the issues that either directly affect me or I am passionate about and with that I was able to make a decision that I was happy with. We went this afternoon to put our cross in the box and now it’s a waiting game until the polls start coming in from 10pm local time. Here’s hoping for a safer, brighter and better future for my daughter…

19024490_10158960427325037_2041427632_o
Sensory Bin

L has spent much of her afternoon playing with toy caterpillars in a cup and mud, they arrived in the post today and I set up a messy play bin with compost and her caterpillars in, a magnifying glass, tweezers and a bucket with some fake leaves on top of the soil to rummage around in before we bust out her new stencils for a painting session before dinner.

562650_1000_1_800
These were a couple of pounds from Amazon Market Place: Plastic, flexible and fully washable plus easy to use with little kids big brushes and little fingers.

19047343_10155197510500491_1775714436_o.jpg

I love her focus. She was really concentrating on her work here and very enthusiastic about mixing colours together! Time for some science fun soon I think…For a child though who’s not keen on tacky, cold, slimy things, she loves painting and painting herself! Not all activities go to “plan” haha

19022091_10155197510070491_1820889264_n

Today she went blue because she “wanted to be Rainbow Dash”. For those not in the know, Rainbow Dash is a Pony from My Little Pony: She’s pretty bad ass 😉

rainbow_dash___dash_with_it_by_mysteriouskaos-d5cu0zq.png

She went on and painted several of the minibeasts, seeming to enjoy the effect of painting over the plastic shapes the result had on the paper.

19048519_10155197509845491_948271002_o

L was pretty proud of her work and wanted a photo taken with it. It’s on the drying rack now and she’s cleaned up, eaten her dinner and gone to bed. Fun filled days are exhausting 🙂

19047094_10155197509560491_439683100_o

Tomorrow my husband is thankfully off work. L has her cardiology appointment for her PDA (Patent Ductus Arteriosis). “The ductus arteriosus is a fetal blood vessel that closes soon after birth. In a PDA, the vessel does not close and remains “patent” (open), resulting in irregular transmission of blood between the aorta and the pulmonary artery.” – Wikipedia

We’ve waited and waited and had many cancellations and I’m dreading it. Nobody likes the thought of their child having to undergo surgery…Tomorrow is a meeting with her new cardiology paediatrician and I assume to discuss the procedure and when it’s likely to take place. Whilst it isn’t affecting her now, it’s a condition that does tend to worsen with age and can be very serious indeed. Wish us luck! I’ll post more when I know more.

In good news…We have booked our first family holiday together since our Honeymoon. I could count Centre Parcs last March, but that included Grandparents on both side, Aunt, Uncle and Cousin as well. This is just, me, J and L (and the dog!). I absolutely cannot WAIT. It’s only a few nights, but it’s down in Cornwall in a place called Coverack and oh my goodness, the beauty of it looking at photos from Google! I’m in love and want to move! I’m very excited to go exploring with L and J and just relax our little socks off. Here’s hoping for good weather and warmth! Eep! 25 days and counting!!

coverack-harbour-post-office

coverack-ariel-photography

Spoonie Mum

xx

 

Leave a Reply

