Literacy · Mathematics

Sandpaper Letters: An Introduction

Two posts, then nothing for months. I know, I know, I am genuinely a terrible blog keeper and the worst at organisation. Perhaps a reason I was drawn to Montessori for my daughter…I wouldn’t wish my lack of skills on anyone! Anyway, despite all that palavar, we’re back! (I promise) A new year is upon us and with it comes a new “term” (I use the term loosely as we don’t follow this strictly and have days off and holidays when we fancy). Since last I posted about our journey, L has really come along in a lot of ways from verbal communication and understanding of abstract concepts and language, to working with numbers in ways that make me marvel.

15542340_375430242792107_3594185087306492966_n

L is rapidly approaching her 3rd birthday (April!) and often find myself wondering if we do too much or progress too fast or if I’m doing the right thing (oh say 99.9% of the time) and find myself having to take a step further back and assess the situation, only then do I remember that Montessori is first about following the child and I really believe this to be a fundamental part of learning and more importantly, enjoying the learning process. L chooses her activities and when it’s something new I gauge whether she’s met other criteria with some competence before allowing her to proceed as I definitely don’t want to set her up to fail and thus lose interest or inspiration. If it’s a work that’s beyond her, I will always try to guide her to something more suitable or suggest an alternative, but for the vast majority of the time I don’t find the need and will allow her to try first. This is true of both Sandpaper Letters and Numbers.

L has always been very interested in numeracy in all forms from quite a young age and within the last 4-5 months, very keen to understand the symbols which represent these. We started just by talking about them and before long she was counting to 20 and able to recognise 0-10 symbols with ease. This interest soon drew her to the sandpaper numbers and with a presentation, we sat down and went through 0-5 followed soon by 6-9.

14064005_316825825319216_4490864924361260107_n

It wasn’t long before her interest in letter sounds and symbols began, so, from today, we picked out 4 letter symbols to begin – s, a, t, m and began the presentation for Sandpaper Letters.

15894975_387797184888746_1592820495737986147_n

She was so excited to use these letters that she reviewed her work as soon as daddy got home to show him what she had been learning. I couldn’t be more proud of the way she throws herself into new challenges and the focus she has to follow through on the work. I shall chalk this up to a good start to the year! Look out for our posts that involve the Montessori Co-Op we have started attending (started in November), we had a break over Christmas, but due back every alternate Friday from 20th January and we can’t wait!

Happy New Year, Folks!

Spoonie Mum x

Leave a Reply

